This is going to sound clichéd, but music is my savior.  It’s so easy to have a day from hell—work sucks, people suck, there are wars and tragedies all over the news, and people are convinced that the world’s going to end in a few years.  It’s not easy to ignore these things, and I’ve really grown used to the startling truth: I just need to accept all of this for what it is.  I can’t make it go away, so I need to counter it with positivity.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  My music library is full of some of the most depressing music you will ever find.  Whether it’s Draconian’s Arcane Rain Fell, an album that might as well be one long death wish, or Virgin Black’s Requiem: Mezzo Forte, which is all about a funeral, it’s very easy to become lost in the despair music can bring, too.  There are times for albums like that, and that time is not when you feel like shit.

I’ve decided, then, that I would regularly feature a song that makes me happy.  It’s quite simple.  Music can be so powerful.  Even if a song isn’t particularly deep, it can really improve your day.

Today’s Happy Pill…

Dragonette – True Believer
This song has everything: it’s sweet, catchy, and energetic.  It starts out mellow enough, but once the electronics really kick in, there’s not going to be a lot stopping you from getting sudden urges to smile and dance.  Even the lyrics are optimistic: “But you… you make me better / You give me pleasure / It’s just your effect on me / Ooh, you make me sweeter / You give me fever / Now I’m a believer.”

Youtube search for “Dragonette True Believer”

